top of page

history of THE
national Pan-Hellenic COUNCIL 

The National Pan-Hellenic Council was established in 1930 at Howard University as a national coordinating body for the nine historically African American fraternities and sororities which had evolved on American college and university campuses. Blatant racism prevented many African American students on historically white campuses from joining fraternities and sororities. African Americans were denied admittance to large numbers of campuses which still prohibited blacks from attending. Therefore, African American students on both types of campuses established fraternities and sororities to enhance their college experiences. These organizations did not then nor do they now restrict membership to African Americans.

Please explore our webpage for information on all of the National Pan-Hellenic Council organizations at Southern Miss, and contact the Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life if you would like additional information.

The nine international fraternities and sororities that make up NPHC, also known as the Divine 9, are:

1906 | Cornell University | Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

1908 | Howard University | Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

1911 | Indiana University | Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

1911 | Howard University | Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

1913 | Howard University | Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

1914 | Howard University | Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.

1920 | Howard University | Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

1922 | Butler University | Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

1963 | Morgan State University | Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.

Anchor 3
bottom of page